History Panel Griffith Avenue

As some local residents will be aware, a new History Panel has been erected on the triangle at the junction of Griffith Avenue and Philipsburgh Avenue. It has the title of "Griffith Avenue - The "One Hundred Foot Road" and is one of the initiatives of The All Hallows Area Association (AHAA) committee with the aim of increasing awareness of our rich history and the importance of Griffith Avenue as a much treasured local amenity.

Griffith Avenue was designed as a 100 foot road linking Glasnevin (St. Mobhi Road) with Clontarf and has some unique features: the only road in Dublin with a double row of trees on either side which has over 820 trees of ten different varieties; reputed to be the longest urban street in the Northern hemisphere without any commercial premises with two churches and five schools accommodating 2,300 pupils. The area surrounding the avenue has many notable sites of historical and cultural interest including: Marino garden suburb; the O'Brien Institute; High Park Convent; the eighteenth century Casino at Marino; All Hallows Campus and Drumcondra Castle dating back to the sixteenth century. 

Griffith Avenue was named in honour of Arthur Griffith (1871 - 1922), writer, newspaper editor, founder of Sinn Fein (1905), leader of the Irish delegation to London in 1921 to negotiate the treaty with the British Government and President of Dail Eireann from January to August 1922.

The foundation stone for the houses on Griffith Avenue was laid by Richard Mulcahy, TD, Minister for Local Government and Public Health on 26th November, 1926.
The AHAA committee are grateful to DCC for their input and financial assistance with this project and other initiatives which we hope to pursue in the years ahead.